UMI 2008 • Sponsors

ISA logo. International Seabed Authority

Satya Nandan, Secretary-General

International Seabed Authority (ISA) is an autonomous international organization established under the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea and the 1994 Agreement relating to the Implementation of Part XI of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS). ISA is responsible for the administration of seabed mineral resources that lie beyond the limits of national jurisdiction. ISA has its headquarters in Kingston, Jamaica. It came into existence on 16 November 1994, upon the formal entry into force of UNCLOS. The first Secretary-General of the Authority, Satya Nandan (Fiji) was elected in March 1996, and the Authority became fully operational as an autonomous international organization in June 1996.

The University of Mississippi

The University of Southern Mississippi

IMMS logo. International Marine Minerals Society

Akira Usui, President

The International Marine Minerals Society is a professional society whose members share a common interest in various aspects of marine minerals. Founded in 1987, the IMMS now includes a worldwide membership of individuals from industry, government agencies, and academic institutions. The primary objectives of the IMMS are to: (1) promote and improve the understanding of marine mineral deposits within the province of the global ocean; (2) aid in the interchange of information among members through networking and formal symposia; (3) encourage the prudent development of marine mineral resources, including concern for the environment; and (4) encourage research in all aspects of marine minerals development.

IMMS is a co-sponsor of the Underwater Mining Institute (UMI) and holds its annual meetings in conjunction with the UMI. Members of the IMMS receive timely e-news, which includes summaries of the latest developments in the field of marine minerals. On occasion the IMMS presents The Moore Medal award to an individual who has contributed notably to the goals and initiatives of the Society in the areas of research, development and management. The Moore Medal is named in honor of the late Professor J. Robert “Robby” Moore. Professor Moore spent a long and distinguished career dedicated to the goals that are now followed by IMMS. He founded the UMI in 1970, and with the collaboration of several colleagues, initiated IMMS in 1987.

HURL logo. Hawai‘i Undersea Research Laboratory

John C. Wiltshire, Director

The Hawai‘i Undersea Research Laboratory (HURL) at the University of Hawai‘i was established to study deepwater marine processes in the Pacific Ocean. Charged with manned submersibles and an ROV, HURL research projects cover the geology and biology of emerging and subsiding islands, marine product and fishery assessments, processes of submarine mineral accumulations on seamounts, volcanoes, and islands, and deep-sea marine ecosystems influenced by natural and man-induced processes.

Marine Technology Society logo (from web site). The Marine Technology Society

The Marine Technology Society (MTS) is the world’s largest international professional society solely dedicated to the study and pursuit of marine technology. It is composed of scientists, engineers, and policy makers from industry, government and academia dedicated to the pursuit of technical excellence and appropriate application in the widest range of marine technologies. Through its sponsorship of the Underwater Mining Institute, MTS hopes to encourage the development of a successful and environmentally responsible marine mining industry.


[ Top of this page ]